So… Trump.

I’m scared.

I’m white, straight and nearly 5 thousand miles away from America. Yet, I’m scared.

Women are essentially just aesthetically pleasing objects.

Gay couples should not be allowed the same privileges as straight couples.

Immigrants should be selected on their likelihood of success.

These are all things said by Trump, the next president of the United States.

As an outsider, I know it’s so so easy to underestimate the scale of it, to get angry and frustrated and to know the ‘right’ thing to do.

I followed almost the entirety of the election through twitter, a site where I follow other, like-minded people. They were all openly supporting Hillary Clinton. Stupidly, I presumed these opinion leaders had enough power to help sway the election… I was wrong.

I was hoping that Brexit would have an impact; that people would see the UK’s decision and how widely the impacts are felt globally, not just nationally. Nope.

He didn’t ‘win’. Not to me.

He used fear and false accusations  and hate and lies; to many this is their future.

That is not winning.

‘Make America great again’? Well, I suppose the definition of ‘great’ varies. I really hope his version is good enough.

I may not be able to do anything. The communities victimised by Trump can’t do anything, and they’re forced to live under his power for at least the next 4 years.

This didn’t seem real. It still doesn’t. It could so easily be some sick prank, but it isn’t.

And I’m scared.

 

Leave a Reply

