It makes me angry

Yes, yes. I know I’ve already written about the election. But then I was scared. True, this whole thing is still really scary, but it’s more than that. I’m angry.

It makes me angry that teachers feel the need to put signs on classroom doors, explaining how there’s no need to be scared, that their classrooms are safe. I’m not saying that the students shouldn’t feel safe. But, in ‘safe’ environments, teachers (leaders, even) should not have to specify that everyone is welcome. In my opinion, school should be seen as an escape of sorts, a place where they can go and get away from any problems at home, where they can go and learn and make friends and have fun. A school environment that involves threat, and danger, and fear is not right.

It makes me angry that the number of hate crimes have increased since the election. It appears that Trump’s new lead means that people think that it’s ok to attack minorities. If it were face to face, this wouldn’t happen. Why do people feel they can publicly victimise others?

It makes me angry how emotional and involved people are, but not how you may think. What gets me is the sorrow that everyone around me seems to feel. Not even people based in America – ‘safe’, white, British people, who according to Trump should not be scared, are truly at a loss. No one knows how to react, no one knows what to do. This is madness.

What has happened to 2016. It all feels fake, that I’m going to wake up and realise that I’ve had the longest, worst nightmare ever. But *pinches self*, it isn’t. And this is real. And we are okay. And we will be okay. 

‘So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past’ – F. Scott Fitzgerald, from The Great Gatsby

 

Leave a Reply

