My morning routine

The thing is, I like sleep.

Problem: I stay up very very late, and have to get up relatively early.

So my alarm first goes off at 6:45am. Ew. How is this legal?? Anyway, my usual response is to turn it off, and go back to sleep.

It goes off again at 6:55, and yet again at 7:00. And do I get up? Nahhhhh.

In fact, I usually lie in my nice burrito of warmth until at least 7:15.

Bad, verrrry bad. I’m supposed to leave at 8!

So once I’ve dragged myself from my cozy cocoon, I put on my dressing gown and go to the bathroom to clean my teeth. There’s no point trying to talk to me at this stage, I’m effectively mute. Then I stumble back to my room, strip off my fuzzy dressing gown and pull on the clothes I’ve chosen the night before. Being in a casual sixth form, I can come in wearing (within reason) whatever I want; usually jeans. (I really hate it, but I think I’ll write a whole post on that) I always choose my outfit the night before, it saves sooo much time and means I don’t have to engage my brain before caffeine has taken its effect.

Then I do my makeup; foundation, contour, concealer, brows and mascara. This usually takes between 10 and 15 minutes, and I listen to music or a podcast in a desperate attempt to wake myself up a bit more. At the moment, I’m loving the podcast ‘Dear Hank and John’, a comedy podcast about death (as they say), hosted by Hank and John Green. I’ve binged about 40 episodes in the past few weeks, oops! After my makeup, I’ll spray some volumizing hairspray into my hair; a semi hopeless effort to add thickness to my hair and quickly run a brush through it.

When I look slightly more alive (all thanks to the makeup), I go downstairs and have breakfast. My ‘go-to’ is quakers golden syrup porridge; it takes 2 minutes in the microwave, and isn’t tooooo bad for you. If I have slightly more time (ha, as if), I’ll make myself beans on toast, which I’ve only recently become fond of.

After I’ve eaten (or as much as I have time for before I realise that I really have to leave), I rush back upstairs to floss and use mouthwash. Then I’ll make sure I have the necessities in my school bag (a black Animal rucksack from the sale); notepad, pencil case, purse and keys, and then I go downstairs to grab my lunch, fill up my water bottle and pick up my travel cup – green tea or black coffee, depending on how tired I am.

At this point, it’s usually 8:05ish, and I have 6 minutes to get to the bus stop. Eeeeekk. Luckily the stop is very close to my house, and I can walk there in about 3 minutes. (I know it’s tight, okkkkk. I’m trying to get up earlier!). From there, it’s about a 10 minute ride to school, and when we arrive I go to the special sixth form study room with my friends. Primarily because there’s a radiator there, it’s still too early to do actual work. Then the bell goes off, and we reluctantly move away from the nice warm radiator and go to class.

Aaaand that’s my routine! It’s usually different at the weekend, although I’m currently working two jobs (one on Saturday and one on Sunday) so I actually have to get up and do school work. Ugh.

This is a new kind of post for me, I hope you liked it! If anyone has any suggestions for future posts, please leave them in the comments :)) I know I haven’t posted much recently, I may or may not go into the reasons behind that. Ehhh, who knows.

 ‘There are only the pursued, the pursuing, the busy and the tired.’- F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

Leave a Reply

